Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Old Forums
 CLOSED - General SQL Server
 Trigger /Updates

Author  Topic 

AskSQLTeam
Ask SQLTeam Question

0 Posts

Posted - 2002-03-04 : 13:59:24
EON writes "Here is my dilemma, I have 2 tables Table1 in one database and Table2 in another both on the same server. Here is my layout

Table1
Database:
Smartlogin
Name of table:
Employees
Fields:
Emp_no | Firstname | Lastname | Homephone | SocialSecurity
2 John Doe 214-444-2221 222-22-2222
3 Joe Schmoe 214-333-2222 444-22-5555
Table2
Database:
UpdatedData
Name of table:
Holdingarea
Fields:
ID | Fldname | NewValue | DBName | TblName
2 Firstname User1 smartlogin Employees
2 Lastname Last1 smartlogin Employees
3 Firstname User2 "" ""
3 Lastname Last2 "" ""

Here is my question (Just to mention I am a junior SQL developer)
I need to update to values in table1 with the values in Table2 using a update in a trigger. How can I do so when my fields are ambigious because the actual field names exists as records, only reflecting the actual field names in Table 1(I hope that makes sense). I know I could probably due a update table.field = table.field based on ID's but how could I do so when they are records? Also, there are thousands of records that will need to be updated if you can give me an idea as to how I could tackle this question along with the most efficient method it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,"

AjarnMark
SQL Slashing Gunting Master

3246 Posts

Posted - 2002-03-04 : 14:56:57
In addition to reading up on triggers in BOL, you might want to read these articles by Merkin on Dynamic SQL:

[url]http://www.sqlteam.com/item.asp?ItemID=4599[/url]
[url]http://www.sqlteam.com/item.asp?ItemID=4619[/url]

------------------------
GENERAL-ly speaking...
Go to Top of Page

eon
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2002-03-07 : 14:52:39