Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 Import/Export (DTS) and Replication (2000)
 Replication, MSDE<>SQLServer

Author  Topic 

MrMcauber
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2002-03-23 : 05:42:25
Hi All, I'm new here, first question so go easy on me, this may sound dumb but I am pretty new to SQL.

OK, some background. I have a possible project coming up and need to figure out a good approach. Its for a company with multiple office (but little money, hmmmm.. dont they all?) They want a database in each office but they want all offices to have the same data. So replication is in order (errr... unless you think different?). Now the data does not have to be upto-date 100% of the time, they can replicate at the end or start of a new business day.

So my thoughts were, give them application (we write, c# or vb) with an MSDE database in each office. Use an internet host who offers SQL Sever as the deal. Then using the SQL Server as the center of a star all the offices can conect to the internet and replicate/Synchronise with the Internet Based SQL Server.

So, with my limited SQL/MSDE knowledge I am unsure how feasible this is. So, what do you think? Is this feasible? Is this a good/bad way, is there a better (cheap) way of doing it? Can I (I think yes) programatically get the MSDE to replicate/synch with the internet based SQL Server? What do I need to watch out for (security, practicalities etc)?

Many thanks for taking the time to read, and apologies if this is a bit of a dumb ass question..

Cheers,
MrMcauber

robvolk
Most Valuable Yak

15732 Posts

Posted - 2002-03-23 : 09:30:21
I only wish more people posted their questions like you did! Clear explanation of your requirements, you've done some preliminary research, these are godsends!