Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Bar Code Scanner and generation

Author  Topic 

alantaylor618
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2012-05-29 : 01:53:56
Hello, I am a school teacher. I have a lot of books for my students reading. I want to make up a system that I can create barcodes for my students and scan books for checkout. I am using Windows xp and .net winforms to finish the task. But I have no source for doing that. I am also wondering if my HTC sense could be used for scanning. Waiting for your help!!

baronross987
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2012-05-29 : 05:26:45
Hi, first you need to figure out which barcode you should use. Then choose a control for .NET WinForms. And I am pretty sure your smart phone will be OK to scan it. But I suggest you to find a scanner if you have many books to deal with.
Go to Top of Page

X002548
Not Just a Number

15586 Posts

Posted - 2012-05-29 : 12:55:55
I need to drive nails into wood, and I would like to use a thermo nuclear device..is it possible?

I would just Print Numeric Lables and put them in each book, then when I hand the books out, I would record which kid got which book, and that book's number...no?

How many books are we talking about?

Is this the Library of Congress? I don't think they even use barcoding.
Go to Top of Page

X002548
Not Just a Number

15586 Posts

Posted - 2012-05-29 : 12:58:39
They have a Control Number

http://lccn.loc.gov/17020816

Go to Top of Page

Dana_4
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2012-05-29 : 23:46:15
quote:
Originally posted by alantaylor618