Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Site Related Forums
 The Yak Corral
 Career Advice Needed

Author  Topic 

toasterburn
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2012-11-20 : 11:50:55
I have an interesting dilemma, and could use some advice.

I have spent the last two years as a Network Administrator for a small company (I have an associates degree in Computer Programming and Networking). My position had zero room for advancement and poor benefits; In my spare time I have been studying for the SQL Server Cert and I have some experience writing queries at work, so I decided to forward my resume to our local university, and had a promising interview for an entry-level SQL Programmer position (creating basic reports for management). My employer found out about the interview though and immediately fired me. Thankfully, my wife also works and we have some savings, so I'm not hurting for money at the moment, but I will need to find work in the next few months.