Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SQL/ACCESS query

Author  Topic 

Dante1987
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2013-03-12 : 11:42:03
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to SQL query writing...but i have spent 6 hours today to learn SQL commands from w3schools and im using razorsql to create queries. Too bad i don't have the query for the following...

info
TABLE1 has column "Platform", "Year", "User"
TABLE2 has column "OS", "REPORT", "Last Used"

Column "Platform" (almost) has the same data as "OS"
Column "Year" and "User" has also data. This data needs to be copied to TABLE2 the only problem is manual copy paste takes alot of time.

so now what needs to be done......
Column "REPORT" and "Last Used" needs to be filled in with the data from column "Year" and "User" but only if the data in "Platform" and "OS" match. Something like a build in check :-)

after a few try outs... i managed to copy the data from "Year" to "REPORT" but the rest of the columns were empty :-( i do have a backup so no worries.

Grifter
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

274 Posts

Posted - 2013-03-12 : 12:45:38
So you are saying if Table1.Platform and table2.OS data are equal then take "year" and "user" data from related row in table 1 and populate "report" and "Last Used" columns respectively in table 2

And from what you say above then the row in Table2 only contain OS value but no data for "report" and "Last Used" columns as this is where your "Year" and "User" data will be copied to?

Quite sure you could use a SELECT INTO and say where Table1.Platform = table2.OS

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_select_into.asp

G
Go to Top of Page

Dante1987
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2013-03-13 : 05:04:59
So my code should be:

SELECT TABLE1.Year, TABLE1.User
INTO TABLE2.REPORT, TABLE2.Last Used