Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Help with query and index

Author  Topic 

hummer123
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2013-04-02 : 02:17:17
Hi,

I am trying to understand a issue we have with a large database and a query that we need to perform. I am not a database expert as such but know my way around a little ;-)

Server. 24 core CPU with 64GB memory and SAS drives.

The database has 2 tables.

Table 1 – domains_com contains a list of domains with approx. 160 million rows

Columns:

Domainid
Domainame
Ignored

This table already has an index and a query on any column is instant.

Table 2

This table contains multiple results of nameserver and whois data for the domains.

Columns

[domainid]
[registrar]
[whois_server]
[registrar_homepage]
[date_created]
[date_expiring]
[date_updated]
[nameservers]
[domain_status]
[domain_ip]
[temp_whois_result]
[last_checked]
[updated]
[app_name]
[crawl_ip]
[info_registrant]
[info_admin]
[info_tech]
[info_billing]

The problem I am having is with a queries where I need to retrieve the temp_whois_result column like below. This column can be quite large up 3k characters.

I have tried creating a non clustered index on results_com as follows and already have a index on domains_com.

Index Key Columns: domainid,domainame
Included columns: Last_Checked,App_Name,info_registrant, whois_server

declare @hours int set @hours = 3
SELECT TOP 200 domainame,Last_Checked,App_Name,info_registrant, whois_server,temp_whois_result
FROM domains_com_joined_results_com WHERE last_checked >= dateadd(hour, -1*@hours, getdate()) order by last_checked desc