Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Auto Generation Of Tables

Author  Topic 

bijinn
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2013-07-25 : 05:46:40
I have been working on a Human Resource Management software in C# .NET. In its Employee Attendance module i need to keep records of attendance of all workers for one month in a single table.The problem I encounter is to auto generate an exact copy of the Attendance table after a particular month is finished. How can i accomplish this? Do help as i am a beginner in SQL. I use SQL server 2008

B

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-25 : 06:30:31
This is SO wrong. Just have one table, and add a MONTH column. Much easier to maintain...

Microsoft SQL Server MVP, MCT, MCSE, MCSA, MCP, MCITP, MCTS, MCDBA
Go to Top of Page

icmmovers
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-25 : 08:07:04
quote:
Originally posted by bijinn

I have been working on a Human Resource Management software in C# .NET. In its Employee Attendance module i need to keep records of attendance of all workers for one month in a single table.The problem I encounter is to auto generate an exact copy of the Attendance table after a particular month is finished. How can i accomplish this? Do help as i am a beginner in SQL. I use SQL server 2008

B

You can also try this:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[ticketSequence]([next_value] [numeric](4, 0) NOT NULL);

Insert initial value:

INSERT INTO [dbo].[ticketSequence]([next_value]) VALUES (1);

Do a select for update on this table each time to get the next value as follows:

DECLARE @lv_next_ticket VARCHAR(50);

UPDATE ts
SET @lv_next_ticket = 'Ticket-' + REPLICATE('0', 4 - LEN(ts.next_value)) + CONVERT(VARCHAR(4), ts.next_value),
ts.next_value = ts.next_value + 1
FROM [dbo].[ticketSequence] ts