Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 Help with a query to generate a view

Author  Topic 

bmooberry
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2013-08-07 : 11:18:40
Hey everyone. I'm a SQL rookie and would sure appreciate some help with generating a view. I have a query that outputs the data I want for the view, but I've been told by the guy who wrote it that it's too complicated to make into a view, and he's not sure how to fix that. I'll paste the query at the end of this post, but first I'll explain what it's doing and why.

We have a business process called "allocation" that occurs once a month. The date it occurs isn't random, but it can't be defined by a formula either, and we don't have a schedule of when future ones will occur until management tells us a few days ahead of time. For reporting, we measure a number of our important metrics by what we call "allocation months", rather than calendar months. An allocation month is defined as the day after an allocation through the date of the next allocation. For example, if we allocated on June 18th and July 22nd, that allocation month (which we would call allocation month August) would run from June 19th through July 22nd. We then have a range I'm currently calling "drop month" (terrible name), which would follow the same date range in the example I just listed, June 19th through July 22nd, only it would be called July rather than August.