Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Administration
 1 Server multiple instances or 1 instance or even

Author  Topic 

marko198
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2014-04-18 : 05:42:10
I am a new DBA working for a charity and I have project to consolidate the multiple databases scattered across the organization.

I have identified the main databases that are mission critical to the organisation. We also have a virtualised infrastructure so plenty of VM's. We currently run SQL Server 2008R2.

Fundraising Database (off the shelf package - 30GB in size with about 100 users)

Fundraising Data warehouse (off the shelf package - 30GB in size with about 5 users)

SQL Reporting Services Database (1GB - reports used across the whole organisation so about 400 users)

Case Load Services Database (Developed in house - 4GB in size with about 300 users)

Finance Database (off the shelf package - 2GB in size with about 150 users)

GFI Exchange archive databases - (off the shelf database - 30GB in size with about 300 users)

Then we have about 10 other smaller databases for system monitoring etc... that are important but not mission critical.

Now the question I have is (bearing in mind limited budget and resources) is whether I should put all of these databases on 1 single instance on 1 single Windows Server 2008 VM. Or would it be better to have them on a single box with separate named instances? Or possibly even separate VM Servers splitting out certain databases each?