Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Analysis Server and Reporting Services (2008)
 Can I do this with Cascading Parameters?

Author  Topic 

LaurieCox

158 Posts

Posted - 2014-07-11 : 16:22:50
I going to try to jerry rig this with Cascading Parameters* but I am not even sure if it will be possible as I have never worked with them before. I am going to try to figure them out whilst applying them to what I am pretty sure is a non-conventional process.

So I guess I am asking if what I am going to attempt to do is even possible or if there is some other way to accomplish this or not.

Explanation of Problem
One of the filters that a user can filter the report on is Eligibility. If they choose to filter on Eligibility there are some additional parameters they must fill in. If they choose not to filter on Eligibility then they should not fill in these additional parameters.

If they do choose to filter on eligibility then the first thing they need to do is select a funding source.

After they select a Funding Source then they need to select Eligibility Type. But they need to know a couple of dates (Max Negative Action Date and Max Updated Date) associated with the selected Funding Source to help* them determine what Eligibility Type they want to select:

• Negative Action

• Missing Eligibility Record

• Negative Action/Missing Eligibility Record

*I cannot write script to determine the Eligibility Type from the dates because some of the information needed to make the decision is in the user's head. They will use the dates along with why they are running the report to determine what to select for Eligibility Type.

After selecting an Eligibility Type they need to select Eligibility Month. The max month that they can select will depend on the Eligibility Type they select: