Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Old Forums
 CLOSED - SQL Server 2005/Yukon
 Cannot update posts in MS SQL 2005

Author  Topic 

julian77
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 2006-05-06 : 10:51:51
Hi,

I have recently migrated from SQL 2000 to SQL 2005 and certain .asp-code that was working before, is no longer working.

Retrieving, inserting, deleting recordsets are no problem, but when I try to update I run into problems.

The following code works:

[CODE]"UPDATE tblsomething SET column_name = 'something' "[/CODE]

But in all my pages I have been using:

[CODE]rs.Open "SELECT * FROM tblSomething WHERE column_name=" & RequestSomething, connection, 1,3[/CODE]

and then I'll list the columns

[CODE]rs.Fields("column_name") = Request.Form("form_name")
-
-
rs.Update[/CODE]

And this approach does not work. Since I am primarily a designer with programming knowledge on a need-to-know-basis, I don't know if something changed between the MS SQL versions? And I am not so keen on changing my code to the working solution in all those pages...

Since the error message is in Swedish I can't just post it but is says something about not finding the sql server in sysservers and tells me to run sp_addlinkedserver to add servers into sysservers?

Does this make any sence to anyone?

Any help appreciated.

//Jesper

jen
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

4110 Posts

Posted - 2006-05-07 : 02:06:10
is the sql server name you specified in your connection string the same with the new server name?

--------------------
keeping it simple...
Go to Top of Page

julian77
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 2006-05-07 : 18:11:25
Jen,

thanks for your reply.