SQL Server Forums
Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | Forum FAQ

Register Now and get your question answered!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Development (2000)
 How to get a list of fields with source tables and ordinal positions for a VIEW
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AskSQLTeam
Ask SQLTeam Question

USA
0 Posts

Posted - 07/12/2001 :  09:00:24  Show Profile  Visit AskSQLTeam's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Mike writes "Hi, I'm a c++ programmer who has been sporadically using SQL server for under a year with no training other than a basic grounding in how select queries work and guerilla style reading to fill in the blanks on a need to know basis.

Let me start by saying that I have searched your FAQ and the site in general and didn't find anything obvious that could help me, sorry if I turn out to be an idiot.

My first ever question to a forum was to get information on how to build crosstabs dynamically given a certain structure to work within. I got no answer and eventually found a solution that worked but it was horrific, I might send this in to you when I have read all the relevant (i.e. crosstab) information on your site.

My current problem is that I want to find out what fields are part of a view (no problem), what their ordinal position is (no problem) AND what the source table for that field is (problem).

during my efforts I've used component parts of the INFORMATION_SCHEMA views, chopped up sections of the sp_columns stored procedure and raw information in the system tables.