Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

Our new SQL Server Forums are live! Come on over! We've restricted the ability to create new threads on these forums.

SQL Server Forums
Profile | Active Topics | Members | Search | Forum FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Development (2000)
 Date query that excludes weekends and holidays
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AskSQLTeam
Ask SQLTeam Question

USA
0 Posts

Posted - 08/24/2001 :  13:02:27  Show Profile  Visit AskSQLTeam's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Gretchen writes "I am fairly new to SQL and I have a query that I am doing that is based off of dates, the management team would like to exclude weekends in holidays when the query is doing it's calculation. Is there a way to do this within SQL or do I have to create something outside of SQL to perform this. Any help you can give me would be greately appreciated.

Thanks

Gretchen Schoser"

nr
SQLTeam MVY

United Kingdom
12543 Posts

Posted - 08/24/2001 :  13:34:25  Show Profile  Visit nr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
weekends

where datepart(dw,dte) not in (1,2)
(find out what your system is set up for daynumbers of weekend).

Bank holidays - you will need a table to contain these and have to do a not exists on it in the query.

==========================================
Cursors are useful if you don't know sql.
Go to Top of Page

AndrewMurphy
Flowing Fount of Yak Knowledge

Ireland
2916 Posts

Posted - 08/24/2001 :  14:16:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote