Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Other SQL Server Topics (2005)
 remote connectivity

Author  Topic 

AndrewB
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 2007-10-10 : 15:46:50
i am trying to connect to sql server remotely with native client. tcp/ip and named pipes are enabled on both sides. there is no firewall between client and server. surface config on server allows remote connections. i have been working on this for a week. i am new to sql server 2005 dont know where to go from here. thanks in advance

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2007-10-10 : 15:48:28
Providing the error would be helpful.

Have you created an alias on the client machine?

Tara Kizer
Microsoft MVP for Windows Server System - SQL Server
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/tarad/
Go to Top of Page

AndrewB
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 2007-10-10 : 15:55:32
the error is below. i get this when i type just the name of the server in but not the instance. i installed with a default instance, do i need to specify that at logon? i think the default is mssqlserver, does that sound right? im not sure about creating an alias. thanks

TITLE: Connect to Server
------------------------------

Cannot connect to WINSERV1.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 53)

Go to Top of Page

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2007-10-10 : 16:12:54
If you installed the default instance, then you do not provide an instance name when connecting.