Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SELECT question for SQL beginner

Author  Topic 

Carbon
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2008-04-16 : 10:38:31
I'm new to SQL, so I apologize for the easier question compared to some of the stuff I was reading on here. I work for a construction company and the accounting software they use, uses SQL in the report writer it looks like. So I've been trying to learn the basics on the fly for a while now. Anways, on to the question...
Basically there are two different tables of data I'm trying to pull into one report. I'll give my code for it and then describe the outputs.
[SELECT bdglin.hrsbdg FROM bdglin WHERE bdglin.recnum = {jobcst.jobnum}] + [SELECT sbcgln.chghrs FROM sbcgln, sbcgln INNER JOIN prmchg ON sbcgln.recnum = prmchg.recnum WHERE prmchg.jobnum = {jobcst.jobnum} and prmchg.status = 1]
I'm starting to think it's something to do with the brackets in there. If I leave the code like that, it's printing the bdglin.hrsbdg out if there is a numeric value (which is good), but it is multiplying it by some number that I can't figure out where it is coming from. So if I'm expecting to see "5" it is either outputting "5" or some whole number multiple of it.
If I add these { } brackets around the whole block of code. The outputs are correct but display like: " {5 + 0} " So 5, the correct budget number and 0 if there is nothing in the change order screen. Basically the multiples are gone, but it's not adding together the budget and change order numbers.
I spent a fair amount of time tinkering with it yesterday and today a bit with a clear head, and read as much as I could online about SQL to see I needed to ask someone knowledgable if I was going to make headway. Thank you very much in advance for your time and any help you can lend.