Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Identity_Insert Error

Author  Topic 

bhushan1980
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2008-04-21 : 19:42:27
Hi all. This is my first post to these forums and I am a newbie. I am using SQL server 2005 and I have written a procedure to insert the data in new row. My procedure runs and executes well, but does not insert a record in my DB table. Instead I get a message in the debugger window that I need to turn ON the Identity Insert property for the tables. But after searching for a while in the IDE, I could not find any such property. So I need to know what went wrong here. Also, I am using ASP.NET to connect to the database and I found out an article on web explaining the way to set the property to ON through my ASP.NET application. But, I would also like to know how to set that property to ON through SQL management studio. Also, my primary key is not null; I am also passing the primary key value and it is unique. Please let me know a remedy for this.

Thank you.

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2008-04-21 : 19:47:51
You've got a coding problem. You should not be supplying a value for the identity column, but rather let SQL Server manage it for you.

Tara Kizer
Microsoft MVP for Windows Server System - SQL Server
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/tarad/
Go to Top of Page

X002548
Not Just a Number

15586 Posts

Posted - 2008-04-21 : 20:09:36
Tara, Tara, Tara

Step 1: Turn computer on

Step 2:....just kidding

We need basics

IF you have a table with an IDENTITY Column, it will supply the next value...I don't think you want to mess around with SET IDENTITY_INSERT <tablename> ON at this point

Let's start here: What's your background?

Brett

8-)

Hint: Want your questions answered fast? Follow the direction in this link