Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Can I store query results as variables?

Author  Topic 

psynister
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2008-10-01 : 18:14:35
System Info: SQL Server 2005, Visual Studio 2005

I have been programming for 7 years, but only recently have I had any need to delve deeply into SQL, so anything beyond Selects and Joins are pretty well beyond me.

I am using SSIS to try to accomplish this, but I have very little idea of where to start in order to make it happen and am even newer to SSIS than I am to SQL. I tried techniques I have used in other projects that have worked in the past, but they lead me to nothing but error messages.

Problem:
I have 16 bits of information that I need to collect. Eight of them come from queries, and I need to be able to stick the results into variables (I think I need to, I could be wrong). Those eight are all a single number, which is a sum of all sales during a period of time, for different departments.

The other eight come from calculations that are based on the first eight. I take the results from queries 1 & 5, for example, and add them together to get the number I need for the ninth variable, while 2 & 6 go into the tenth variable, and so on.

After I have all 16 variables, I need to store them all into a single record on a separate table.

Any help is appreciated,

~Jason Griffith

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2008-10-01 : 18:19:37
I don't think you need SSIS for this. T-SQL has variables.

Here's a cheap example of the use of variables:

DECLARE @s1 varchar(5), @s2 varchar(20)

SELECT @s1 = 'Tara', @s2 = 'Kizer'

SELECT @s1 + ' ' + @s2

DECLARE @i int

SELECT @i = Column1 FROM Table1 WHERE Column2 = 99

Tara Kizer
Microsoft MVP for Windows Server System - SQL Server