Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2005)
 Left Outer Join Query does not return all records

Author  Topic 

dan.ling@pcubed.com
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2008-11-20 : 22:12:12
Jeff and the SQL Team,

I’m new to SQL programming and have learned a lot on your blog – great job. I did not see how to post a question so I decided to email you directly/post here. I intend to use your dynamic crosstab code but I’m stuck on another issue with SQL that will eventually lead me to creating a crosstab query for a report. I’m working with MS Portfolio Server and Project Server data and just need to create some SSRS 2005 reports from SQL2005 data.

My issue is with a dataset created with a series of outer joins where I basically want to include all the records in “Table A” even if a corresponding record does not exist in “Table B” based on a key field. I want to get the null records in the dataset if a record is missing in table B. I’ve used a “LEFT OUTER JOIN” successfully for other queries but is does not seem to be working with the attached queries. Specifically, my issue is when I create a “LEFT OUTER JOIN” between Attributes and Attribute Values using the ID field in the Attribute List by Project query. The Attribute Values table does not have a record for all Attributes but I want the query to display the Null entries and I thought the “LEFT OUTER JOIN” would produce that result.

I’ve tried using AND, ISNULL, and IS Null in the SELECT and WHERE statements with no luck. I’m not sure about CROSS JOIN but I’m hoping you can point me to a solution. Feel free to use this in your blog if you have a solution that others can benefit from. Background INFO below and the TABLE Defintions are at the end. I can send you the DB also.