Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 How to save new stored procedure to database

Author  Topic 

Hviezdoslav
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2009-03-24 : 15:57:45
Greetings,

I am a junior developer and only have experience using SQL Server 2000.

Now I am using SQL Server 2005.

In SQL Server 2000 at my first employer, I could go to Stored Proc section of a database and click to create a new stored proc. Assuming of course that the compilation was successful, I could see then the new stored proc in the Stored Proc section of the database in which I was working. Of course I could go to Query Analyzer to execute the stored proc to test. I never saved the stored proc to any place on my local drive but saved it to the database's tree, to the db itself within the Stored Proc section.

So on SQL Server 2005 at my new employer, I created a new stored proc in the Stored Procedures section of a database. When saving, it prompted me to save to the Projects folder. I can see the stored proc that I saved sitting in C:\Documents and Settings\MWitt\My Documents\SQL Server Management Studio\Projects. I have read on the Internet that I need to execute the stored proc in order to see the stored proc in the Stored Procedures section of the database, in the tree on the left. This SQL Server 2005 stored proc is just to learn how to save a stored proc to the db and it just selects all from a table within that db.

So I clicked New Query and typed the following:

Exec a_test_only.sql

I got the following error:

Msg 2812, Level 16, State 62, Line 1
Could not find stored procedure 'a_test_only.sql'.

I tried typing Exec smhDirectory.dbo.a_test_only.sql, but got the error: Msg 7202, Level 11, State 2, Line 1