Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2005)
 Insert without knowing foreignkey id ahead of time

Author  Topic 

tuesdaysGreen
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2009-05-06 : 01:42:03
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to sql so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

My situation is that I have two tables where one is referring to the other via a foreign key. I want my .net application to be able to insert into the referring table with only one stored procedure call and without explicitly specifying the foreign key in the call to the sproc.

For example, here's a portion of my tables:

Files_Tbl
Id int (primary key)
LocationId int (foreign key)
FullFileName varchar(50)

Locations_Tbl
Id int (primary key)
LocationName varchar(50)

The only way I know how to insert a new File entry, is to have my .net application make two calls to the database.
1. Query the Locations_Tbl for an existing id.
2. Use the LocationId from step 1 to insert a new File entry in the Files_Tbl.

However, I want to be able to do this in a single stored procedure call. In other word, my .net application should only be required to provide the FullFileName and the LocationName. This means that the stored proc will need to be able to do steps 1 and 2 from above. Is this possible to do in SQL?

Thanks in advance!

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2009-05-06 : 02:05:17
Of course.

CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.uspMyFirstStoredProcedure
(
@LocationName VARCHAR(50),
@FullFileName VARCHAR(50)
)
AS

SET NOCOUNT ON

DECLARE @LocationID INT

SELECT @LocationID = LocationID FROM Locations_Tbl WHERE LocationName = @LocationName

IF @LocationID IS NULL
BEGIN
INSERT Locations_Tbl (LocationName) VALUES (@LocationName)
SET @LocationID = SCOPE_IDENTITY()
END