Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2005)
 Struggling with 4-5 table join syntax

Author  Topic 

lchriste
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2009-08-21 : 17:08:23
I've been a SQL programmer for a long time, but haven't had to make the syntax switch to doing JOINs in the FROM clause (rather than in the WHERE clause) and I am really struggling to make that quantum leap.

I found this pithy nugget on one website....
More than 2 tables can participate in a join. This is basically just an extension of a 2 table join.
3 tables -- a, b, c, might be joined in various ways:

a joins b which joins c
a joins b and the join of a and b joins c
a joins b and a joins c

....but they didn't include any actual examples of doing this in SQL. I have looked all over the place and can't find many good examples of joining 3, 4, 5 or more tables in various ways using the "new" syntax--but I can do it in my sleep using the old WHERE clause method.

Does anyone know of any good books, websites or other resources that would have lots of good examples (hopefully with cogent explanations) to help me make this painful and admittedly long overdue transition?

Old Dog looking for New Tricks

TG
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

6065 Posts

Posted - 2009-08-21 : 17:28:34
>> I have looked all over the place and can't find many good examples of joining 3, 4, 5 or more tables

Why look "all over the place"? Just look HERE Practically every post from any forum will have JOIN examples using the "new" syntax. And "new" would be in geologic terms.

Think of it this way:
as each table is JOINed in the from clause it adds to whole. Columns from all previous tables JOINed are available to correlate with columns on the table being JOINed.

Be One with the Optimizer
TG
Go to Top of Page

IncisiveOne
Starting Member

36 Posts