Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Administration
 Breaking into the DB field...

Author  Topic 

willtech10577
Starting Member

8 Posts

Posted - 2009-12-29 : 10:09:52
Hello all! I am posting this (sorry if this is in the wrong forum but it said New to DBA) but I am a networking professional for about 5 years now am I must admit I am getting bored of the networking end of the field.

I am looking into studying SQL 2008 to do DB Administration and I find it very challenging and unique. Its also a nice that I recently got married and these crazy on-call shifts and working at client sites on weekends and the such is getting in the way of my family life (not like when I was single). Its my understanding most of the SQL things can be done remotely so that should help in that respect.

I started reading MS Press book 70-432 book for the DBA cert and been playing with T-SQL and SQL Mgmt Studio and I have a basic grasp of the concepts.

My question is...how is one to break into the DBA field? Any suggestions would be apprciated.
Thanks!

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2009-12-29 : 11:01:12
It can be very hard to break into the DBA field unless you are willing to take a dramatic pay cut. You'll have to start as an intern or a junior DBA unless you've got some DBA experience already and can prove it during an interview. You need to build relationships with other DBAs and hopefully a position will open.

Although I work remotely when I'm on-call, DBAs can get paged quite a bit. That's part of the reason for our salary requirements. The key is to stabilize the environment and be proactive so that the issues do not happen at night.

You'll want to get certified as a Microsoft DBA, can't remember the name of the certification at the moment because they keep changing it.