Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Locking table why??

Author  Topic 

mrtweaver
Yak Posting Veteran

67 Posts

Posted - 2010-01-27 : 17:19:37
I am still fairly new to SQL but I have a question about tables and locks.

I have this one table and it feeds about 3 or 4 views. This table is updated periodically thru a VB interface. Today we had an issue where the tables somehow got locked. We could not delete it, we could not edit it, we could open and view it but that is about all we could do.
First thing we tried was to shutdown the SQL service and bring it back. This did not help. So then we shut down the server and brought it back up, now we could get in, edit, modify ect the table in question.

So my question is how does a table lock itself and how can one unlock it without having to reboot the server? Also is there someplace where Ican look to see what caused the lock?

And please be as specific as possible as I said am still new. Thank you.

I realized I forgot to mention this application has been running along fine for 6 months. It just choose to do this and I need to know why.

Lamprey
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

4614 Posts

Posted - 2010-01-27 : 17:34:20