Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 Cursor to Loop Through Recordset

Author  Topic 

swhetsell
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2010-03-31 : 14:34:46
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to SQL (only a few months working with it). I haven't quite grasped all the concepts, and the cursor has me a bit confused.

Here's what I would like to accomplish:

Using a stored procedure, I create a temporary table and select a set of records based on a realtime snapshot of my database. I need (the cursor?) to cycle through all records selected in the temp table and perform a series of inserts based on each record. In Access I used Do Until .EOF, but as that is not available in T-SQL I (mis?)understand that the cursor is the way to go using @@Fetch commands. On average the temp table would return around 50-75 records with a max around 700. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the code I have so far:

========= BEGIN SAMPLE CODE =========

Create Table #UnitClientSnapshot (
UnitNumber varchar(8)
,UnitStatus varchar(8)
,AlphaStatus varchar(1)
,IsJoined varchar(1)
,SectionNumber varchar(4)
,TimerExpr datetime2
,CCNo varchar(16)
,CurrentCommCenter char(2)
,PrimaryCommCenter char(2)
,NewUnitNumber varchar(8)
,UnitRank varchar(8)
,UnitName varchar(83))

-- Find units on duty
INSERT INTO #UnitClientSnapshot (UnitNumber, UnitStatus,AlphaStatus,IsJoined,SectionNumber,TimerExpr,CCNo,CurrentCommCenter,PrimaryCommCenter,NewUnitNumber,UnitRank,UnitName)
Select dbo.unitclient.UnitNumber,dbo.UnitClient.UnitStatus,AlphaStatus,IsJoined,dbo.UnitClient.SectionNumber,TimerExpr,dbo.UnitClient.CCNo,CurrentCommCenter,PrimaryCommCenter,NewUnitID,Dbo.vwpersonnel.UnitRank,OutboundAs,Mileage