Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2005)
 transaction log backup steps

Author  Topic 

sleonard24
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2010-12-10 : 12:58:40
I am new to sql server administration and am looking for some information on how to backup the transaction log for an SQL 2005 database.

The database I have is set to full recovery mode. I just started backing up the database and noticed the transaction log was getting rather large in size. After much reading this morning in this forum and on the Internet, I realized that I also need to backup my transaction log to prevent the log from overtaking all the hard disk space.

I currently have a maintenance plan where I have backed up the database with a backup type of full. How do I then backup the transaction logs afterward since I know that the backup has to be done first? Also, after I backup the database and the log, is/are there any other steps I need to complete to make the transaction log smaller? Or, do I leave it at is current size? I read some posts about truncating the log, but am now sure if I need to do this.

I plan on doing full backups of the database daily once I have everything set to go.

Thanks for any advice/tips/steps that are replied. I really appreciate them.

Scott

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2010-12-11 : 03:17:33
Backup the Transaction Log every 15 minutes (more often has little gain, less often results in bigger files and potentially an extended period of data loss in a Disaster). Once you have done the first one you may need to SHRINK the Log File (LDF) back down to a reasonable size (but leave it large enough that it doesn't have to grow back again - repeated Shrink/Grow will fragment it.

That's it!

Log backups are completely independent of Full / Differential backups