Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Need help fast!

Author  Topic 

pitmet
Starting Member

17 Posts

Posted - 2010-12-29 : 21:46:16
I work in IT but am a novice in sql programming.Due to budget cutbacks I have been given the assignment of running queries for Marketing. I really need the job so I can't refuse. I originally tried using Crystal but was ready to pull my hair out with it's inflexibility -specifically with null values. I'm using SQL 2000 and query analyzer. Please forgive the clumsiness of my code and the overuse of the and clause. I have commented the problems in the code and an alternative to all the "and" clauses would be nice also. Thanks in advance. The code - I hope it's legible:

select a.account_ID, a.address1a, a.address1b, a.city1, a.state1, a.zip1,a.badaddress1,a.mailflag,p.lastname,p.firstname,p.account_ID,s.meta_ID,s.IDtype,s.stattype,s.gamingdate,s.Twin
from Cds_Account a (nolock)
join Cds_Player p (nolock)
on a.account_ID=p.account_ID
join Cds_Statday s (nolock)
on p.account_ID=s.meta_ID
where s.meta_ID=a.account_ID and s.IDtype='p'
and s.meta_ID=P.account_ID and s.IDType='p'
and s.meta_ID=a.account_ID and a.address1a is not null
and s.meta_ID=a.account_ID and a.address1a<>''
and a.state1='AZ' or a.state1='Arizona'
and s.meta_ID=p.account_ID and s.stattype like 'SL%' --am at home so haven't tried like clause yet - was using = 'slot' and it ------returned both slot and pit (seperate ratings)
and s.meta_ID=a.account_ID and s.stattype not like 'P%' --am at home so haven't tried like yet --same as above
--Unforunately they don't let you run queries from home on gaming db'.

and a.mailflag= 'Y'and a.mailflag<>'N'
and a.badaddress1 = 'N'

and s.gamingdate>=datepart(yy,getdate())
and

s.gamingdate>=datepart(mm,getdate())-3
and
s.twin>=10