Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SSIS package to do manual failover in case of DR

Author  Topic 

deal11deal1
Starting Member

34 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-06 : 20:24:51
Hello All,
Yesterday my new boss gave me this assignment on SSIS , I am hoping some one of you might have gone through it or has an idea, since I am a junior DBA and new to SSIS any help will me on this will be greatly appreciated.
I have a test scenario of DR in the dev boxes in SQL2005 with DB mirroring. Set up a principal and mirror server both with same service account without any witness server with manual fail over when the need arises. Let’s say in over case principal is server A and mirror is server B.

(Was feeling pretty good about myself when did that ), but suddenly now my boss wants me to design a SSIS package in the case of DR will look for the databases in server A and failover them over to server B automatically.(without going to actually go to Task->mirror->failover manually). The job will run as needed and the package also needs to read the name of the databases (one or multiple) from a excel file.
Guys I hope someone please able to help me in this... … If you already have done something like that or know what to do please help me ASAP…

dataguru1971
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

1464 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-06 : 21:12:12
If you set up Database mirroring with a witness, if server A is unavailable, it would automatically revert to Server B (In high availability). if you have both servers identical, including SSIS packages, and config file set appropriately..you could have your 1st step of schedule agent jobs 1st check to see if the db is acting as the principal.