Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SQL Running

Author  Topic 

kulfi
Starting Member

33 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-30 : 23:39:29
Hi,
I am trying to connect the sql databse but can any one tell me that is it neccassary that the sql server should be installed on the same computer where the file is kept.
thanks

Lumbago
Norsk Yak Master

3271 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-31 : 05:21:35
Which file are you talking about? What are you trying to do?

- Lumbago

My blog-> www.thefirstsql.com
Go to Top of Page

kulfi
Starting Member

33 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-31 : 08:00:30
Actually i am new to Visual Studio 2010 and SQL Server Please if my question is not clear i will try to make more clear

i have one file which is located at \\10.0.0.155\V-schedule\CAD_Data_Base.mdf and i want attach this databse to my vb.net program i have two questions here.
1. Is it necassary that where ever the file reside sql server has to be installed there.
2. i am trying to attach the datbase file but i get a message that it is located at UNC Share how can i clear this message and attach the file.
thanks

Go to Top of Page

Lumbago
Norsk Yak Master

3271 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-31 : 08:18:09
I'm still confused. If you want to get data from a sql server you don't connect to a *file* but to a *server*. So when you connect you basically only specify the server name/ip, username and password... But you are also saying that you are trying to attach the file; isn't this file/database attached to a server already?

- Lumbago

Go to Top of Page

kulfi
Starting Member

33 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-31 : 08:54:13