Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Count Quotes between Dates

Author  Topic 

JohnGault777
Starting Member

31 Posts

Posted - 2011-02-14 : 09:22:37
Initially disclaimer: I'm an extreme novice to SQL. I've been reading various books (SAMS Teach Yourself in 10 Minutes, Inside Microsoft SQL Serve 2005: T-SQL Querying, and SQL Queries for Mere Mortals) trying to get up to speed.

I've gotten to the point of understanding that I think you call a Select statement inside of a Select statement. I think of it as the Select Statement has created a table and you are using it in the FROM section.

So I wrote the following code and it keeps telling me "Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'Where'". Can someone clarify why this isn't working?

Select Count(uniquequotecount)
FROM (SELECT dateadd(dd,datediff(dd,0,dbo.policy.adddate),0) as OverallADDDay, count(distinct dbo.policy.insuredid) as UniqueQuoteCount
FROM dbo.Insured INNER JOIN
dbo.Policy ON dbo.Insured.insuredID = dbo.Policy.insuredID
WHERE dbo.Policy.policytype = '4'
GROUP BY dateadd(dd,datediff(dd,0,dbo.policy.adddate),0))
Where OverallADDDay >= '20090701' and OverallADDDay < '20090901'

To clarify the purpose of this statement: The statement is trying to determine the number of customers (InsuredID) that call in to receive a quote on a particular day; this would be what I'm calling a Quote Count. This is because a customer can actually receive hundreds of quotes in a particular day. However, I really want to count a single quote as a customer receiving 1 or greater quotes on a single day.

JG777

jimf
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2875 Posts

Posted - 2011-02-14 : 09:36:22
You need to alias the derived table
GROUP BY dateadd(dd,datediff(dd,0,dbo.policy.adddate),0)) as derivedTable

Jim