Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Need help with supertype/subtype table, please!

Author  Topic 

eplugplay
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2011-03-29 : 02:38:28
Hello, I am new to the SQL world and I am having the toughest time trying to figure this one out! I have a project that is due in two weeks and I still cannot for the life of me get the relationships correctly done in SQL.

Here is my problem, I am creating a database and the series of tables that I am having problems with are the Jewelry and the types of Jewelry.

So far my tables are:

JEWELRY
Jewelry_ID PK
Metal_ID
Price_Sold
Gem_ID
Jewelry_Type

BRACELET
JEWELRY_ID PK,FK
Bracelet_Type

Pretty much my JEWELRY table is my supertype table and my BRACELET table is my subtype table. I have 4 more tables like BRACELET but are NECKLACE, RING, WATCH, EARRING.

My question is that I understand the subtype table inherits the supertype's table, in this case the JEWELRY table's Jewelry_ID attribute is the primary key and it is also the foreign key in the BRACELET table. But how do I actually create this in sql?

I started with the create table scripts:

Create Table JEWELRY
(
JEWELRY_ID Int Not Null,
METAL_ID Int Not Null,
GEM_ID Int Null,
PRICE_SOLD decimal(8,2) Not Null,
JEWELRY_TYPE Char(1) Not Null,
)
Go

Create Table BRACELET
(
JEWELRY_ID Int Not Null,
JEWELRY_TYPE CHAR(1) DEFAULT 'B' Not Null,
JEWELRY_DESCRIPTION CHAR(15) NOT NULL,
)
Go

Then I did my alter tables for jewelry and bracelet:

ALTER TABLE JEWELRY WITH NOCHECK
ADD CONSTRAINT PK_JEWELRY_ID PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(JEWELRY_ID)
ON [PRIMARY]
GO

ALTER TABLE BRACELET WITH NOCHECK
ADD CONSTRAINT PK_B_JEWELRY_ID PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(JEWELRY_ID)
ON [PRIMARY]
GO

ALTER TABLE BRACELET WITH CHECK
ADD CONSTRAINT FK_JEWELRY_ID
FOREIGN KEY
(JEWELRY_ID)