Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Administration
 SQL 2008 R2 Config

Author  Topic 

boarderyogi
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2011-05-23 : 14:37:27
Hello,

I'm pretty new to setting up sql servers and was after a bit of advice.
This is our current server setup:

32GB RAM
Windows Server 2008 Enterprise 32-bit
SQL Server 2008 R2

Currently there is no PAE switch enabled and AWE is not enabled in SQL.
The sql server memory settings are:

Minimum 1024
Maximum 4096

Other Memory options:

0 and 1024

The server is performing very badly with regard to running our in house software which runs on sql server.
I didn't set this server up but I'm seeing that it is paging badly and I'm thinking that if the sql server memory settings were configured better we might see a performance increase.

What do you guys think??
Thanks in advance

dinakar
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2507 Posts

Posted - 2011-05-23 : 17:59:47
Do yo uhave the option to upgrade the OS to 64-bit?
The extra RAM via /PAE & /AWE is only used for data caching and not for plan caching.. with 32 gigs, you might be in much better shape with x64 and take full advantage of the hardware resources.

Dinakar Nethi
Life is short. Enjoy it.
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/dinakar/
Go to Top of Page

boarderyogi
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2011-05-23 : 18:02:42
Hi there,

No we can't upgrade to x64 as our in house software won't run on it.
I have to try to tweak the 32bit installations.
Go to Top of Page

dinakar

2507 Posts

Posted - 2011-05-23 : 18:10:21
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/274750

Dinakar Nethi
Life is short. Enjoy it.
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/dinakar/
Go to Top of Page

boarderyogi
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2011-05-24 : 09:27:38
I've enabled awe with the "lock pages in memory" GPO setting.