Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 Differential vs Transaction Log backup

Author  Topic 

kpgraci
Yak Posting Veteran

68 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-06 : 15:50:46
I am a Programmer/Sql Server Novice trying to develop a backup/restore plan.

I know that a full backup must be done first, and that a differential backup saves only changes whereas the transactional log backup saves the transaction logs - either of these combined with the full backup and allows you to restore a database.

I'm familiar with the differential backup concept (saving only changes), and I'm assuming the SQL server transaction logs are basically a list of commands requested of sql server to perform, so re-processing them will get the database back to whatever state the log backup was made.

So why are both differential and transaction logs backups supported and which is better in what circumstances?

It seems to me, while they use very different techniques, they accomplish the same thing, storing enough info to turn an old full backup into a restored database.

Insights?

kpg

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-06 : 16:02:49
Transaction log backups give you point-in-time recovery. Differentials do not. A differential is only the full backup plus whatever changes have happened since the full backup and up to the differential. They do not include any changes after the differential. But a tlog backup does.

Here's an example:

12am full backup
12pm diff
12am-11:59pm - tlog backups every 15 minutes

System crash at 6:01pm that requires complete recovery.

You would restore the 12am full backup, the 12pm diff, and then all of the tlogs from 12pm until 6pm. If you were able to do a tail backup at 6:01pm or after, then you could even restore that.