Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 If then statement

Author  Topic 

cwildeman
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-08 : 09:40:39
Hi,
I am a novice SQL writer. I have a field called NoInjury which is a bit field. When it is check on the Access form that is used to create the records, it means there is no injury for this record and when it is unchecked it means there is an injury. I want to write a query that counts the number of Injuries and am trying to figure out how to write an If then statement that will assign a No or Unchecked value as a 1 and then sum or permorm a count on the No values. Can someone help?
Chuck

Chuck W

robvolk
Most Valuable Yak

15732 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-08 : 10:10:55
SELECT SUM(CASE WHEN NoInjury=1 THEN 1 END) NoInjuryTotal, SUM(CASE WHEN NoInjury=0 THEN 1 END) InjuryTotal
FROM myTable
Go to Top of Page

cwildeman
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-08 : 10:40:54
Thanks. That worked. Chuck

Chuck W
Go to Top of Page

madhivanan
Premature Yak Congratulator

22864 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-08 : 11:01:47
quote:
Originally posted by robvolk

SELECT SUM(CASE WHEN NoInjury=1 THEN 1 END) NoInjuryTotal, SUM(CASE WHEN NoInjury=0 THEN 1 END) InjuryTotal
FROM myTable

I would add ELSE 0 part in the code to avoid a warning Warning: Null value is eliminated by an aggregate or other SET operation.

Madhivanan

Failing to plan is Planning to fail
Go to Top of Page

jcelko
Esteemed SQL Purist

547 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-08 : 15:01:16
>> I am a novice SQL writer. <<

Yep, and you have several classic mindset errors.