Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 AWE allocate memory

Author  Topic 

leodone
Starting Member

30 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-05 : 09:52:27
Hello Everyone,

I have AWE enabled on my SQL server 2008 on window server 2008 64 BIT with 24 G of RAM. SQL Server is currently using 6 g of RAM.

Question:
1) is this normal?
2) should I disable AWE?
3) What is the basic amount of RAM each databases use? (We have 7 database on this server)

I thought SQL server releases memory when not in use.

Newbie here.

chris_cs
Posting Yak Master

223 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-05 : 10:03:10
My understanding is AWE only needs to be set for 32 bit systems. You should normally stick with the default memory setting when SQL Server is installed.

SQL Server can then use whatever memory is available to it which is what you want for good performance.

Junior DBA learning the ropes
Go to Top of Page

leodone
Starting Member

30 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-05 : 10:13:16
Chris

Thanks

Question - to disable it, do I need to restart the database services once I make that change?
Go to Top of Page

chris_cs
Posting Yak Master

223 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-05 : 10:19:44
Not that I'm aware of.

Junior DBA learning the ropes
Go to Top of Page

lappin
Posting Yak Master

182 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-05 : 10:29:48
You can test that you are able to access more RAM by setting the minimum and maximum memory being used, e.g. set min=10GB and max=20GB. Then check usage. 10GB might be a high minimum but if the server is only handling SQL Server then it may not be. Setting a realistic minimum means SQL Server will not have to waste resources claiming more memory as it needs it.
Go to Top of Page

Bustaz Kool
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

1834 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-06 : 19:29:13
Here's the straight poop...