Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Creating a matrix using two tables

Author  Topic 

VTC
Starting Member

9 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-08 : 21:53:48
I'm pretty new to SQL and wanted to try using it to complete a menial task that I'd typically have a subordinate do manually.

As an example of what I'm trying to do, say I have two tables: the first containing a variable list of food items along with information associted with each item, and a second with a person column and food item column. The foods in the first table aren't necessarily referenced in the second, but all the foods in the second are present in the first.

What I'm looking to do is create a matrix with the food items from first table as the column names, the people from the second on the rows, marking - let's say with an 'X' - where the two cooincide using the records from the second table.

I'm fluent in some other languages, but I'd like to try to do this all in SQL, if possible.

Many thanks in advance,

Vigo the Carpathian

paultech
Yak Posting Veteran

79 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-09 : 06:57:13
you are taking about relations between the 2 tables ,

this can be done using inner joins .

lets say first table : fooditems contains ID and Name fields

second table :people contains ID , name , age , fooitemsID

so the query will be

select fooditems.ID , fooditems.name , people.name , people.age
from fooditems inner join people
on fooditems.ID = people.fooditemsID

for more information about inner join and how it works

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_join_inner.asp

Go to Top of Page

mikebird
Aged Yak Warrior

529 Posts

Posted - 2011-10-09 : 10:12:25
Don't think about getting the 'X' value in a query joining those tables and using a group by clause. This is best accomplished in the matrix.