Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 Inherited SQL Server 2000

Author  Topic 

LopakaB
Starting Member

22 Posts

Posted - 2011-11-22 : 19:16:25
I am a db developer and NOT an admin... wanted to put that out up front... :)
I inherited a server who had no dba to begin with... it is has default everything... very few indexes, >1K table, >1K sp, 1>vw, couple of functions... looks like old vb naming convention including field names, "strField/intField/etc...". All sp's begin with sp_ .... well i hope you got the idea....

Just wanted a pointer or two as to were to start, I was think the setup... figuring out sometype of schema???? remember NOT DBA...

Any suggestions/books/articles would be extremely helpful...

Thank you

Lopaka

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

52326 Posts

Posted - 2011-11-22 : 23:51:38
start with schema then move down to objects. look for best practises and analyse againt them and see what all can be changed with minimal overhead and maintenance effort

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP
http://visakhm.blogspot.com/

Go to Top of Page

LopakaB
Starting Member

22 Posts

Posted - 2011-11-22 : 23:57:50
thank you....

Lopaka
Go to Top of Page

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

52326 Posts

Posted - 2011-11-23 : 00:02:31
wc

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP
http://visakhm.blogspot.com/

Go to Top of Page

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2011-11-23 : 03:39:26
What are you after?

1) Its all working OK, need to keep it that way
2) Its all working OK, but some parts are slow and need optimising and/or we need a few more reports / queries