Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 Subquery Returned More than 1 value

Author  Topic 

deadtrees
Starting Member

26 Posts

Posted - 2011-12-28 : 13:07:24
Feel free to yell at me if my code is that bad, I'm new to this so advice is always welcome.

I have a query that is attempting to summarize info on People (Subjects) that have many decisions (Evaluations) associated to them. One of the things I'd like to do is summarize whether or not an examination of that person is complete. You can tell that an examination is incomplete by one of two variables. 1) the subject has a checkbox clicked stating they have no info on file(Subjects.NoInfo=1) or 2) one of the Evaluations is listed as Incomplete (EvidenceSubjects.Evaluation=4). I think the problem lies in the fact that these two variables exist in different tables.

So, I have a column [Exam Complete] that is utilizing a subquery to see if there's an Incomplete evaluations for a subject and utilizing a case statement based upon it finding the condition. If it does, it returns a N and if it's null it returns a different value. I'd like it to consider the second variable and thought it might be as easy as adding an OR clause because I've Set the Subquery's SubjectID to the Subject ID of the main query but that's when I get the error. It works fine when I take out the S2.NoInfo part, but obviously that's not a true reflection of the information in the case.

My question is: How do I make a multi conditional WHERE statement in a subquery that references the field I want in the main table? Or I'd also accept a 'Your repeated subquery structure between the two fields is a redundant newbie mistake and this is a better way of doing it' answer as well (problem code highlighted in red)

SELECT