Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Help required

Author  Topic 

srinirao88
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2012-03-10 : 19:29:12
Hi All,

I am new to SQL, I am trying to replace a special character using the replace function, for one character it is working fine, but I am not able to replace multiple characters in one statement, please find the query below.

Select [col1],[col2], CONVERT(Float, replace([Col2],'-',''))

THIS WORKS FINE

BUT

Select [Col1] , [Col2],CONVERT(Float, replace([Col2],'-','','/',''))

There comes a error message as "The replace function requires 3 argument(s).", please help in resolving this.

Thanks in advance

Srinirao88

khtan
In (Som, Ni, Yak)

17689 Posts

Posted - 2012-03-10 : 20:35:50
use REPLACE() twice

CONVERT(Float, replace(replace([Col2], '-', '')), '/', '')

KH
[spoiler]Time is always against us[/spoiler]

Go to Top of Page

srinirao88
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2012-03-11 : 09:22:52
Hi,
Thanks for the quick reply, I tried the above query still it is not able to compile it, it gives an error message "Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'CONVERT'", also it gives out a error message at return whn I place the cursor on it "incorrect syntax near 'replace'. expecting select, or'('.", also this appears for the second replace in the query.

For more info I am pasting the query below
Select [Service num],[col1] CONVERT(Float, replace([col1],'-',''))[col1],[col2] CONVERT(Float, replace([col2],'-',''))[col2] , [col3] CONVERT(Float, replace([col3],'-',''))[col3], [col4] CONVERT(Float, replace([col4],'-',''))[col4]   from table1 UNION ALL