Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 Data Corruption Issues
 INT Column value is 1 less than it should be

Author  Topic 

ScottRayner
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2012-03-22 : 19:49:30
Sorry, the subject is difficult to describe in the space allowed for the subject

I have a database containing a table for invoice details, and another for loadout details - cartons loaded out to the invoice.

Each time a carton is scanned to the loadout table, a column in the invoice details is incremented to show the number of cartons, and the carton weight is added to the weight on that row of the invoice (very simplified description!)

This system has been in place and operating for at least 10 years, and I've been working with it for the past 5 years.

Generally, if you count all rows in the loadout table with a given invoice number, the result should match the value stored as an integer in the invoice detail table, as should the weight- most of the time it does (discounting manually modified invoices).

On a number of occasions (first using SQL Server 2000, and now twice with SQL Server 2008R2) the value in the invoice details returns exactly 1 less than the count of cartons while the weight remains correct- those with no cartons loaded out to them have -1 in the invoice details table (and weight 0). HOWEVER it isn't ALL invoices which are affected - up to 400,000 of 2,000,000 were affected this time, with no obvious common denominator - both active and closed invoices. Furthermore, each time I run a simple query to compare the count of cartons against the invoice details, I get different results, sometimes more, sometimes less, indicating the values are sometimes -1 and sometimes correct.