Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Excel to SQL and back again

Author  Topic 

allanurban
Starting Member

21 Posts

Posted - 2012-07-26 : 13:18:28
Hello all

I have recently started on a new project. The goal is to insert some data generated in Excel into a table in a SQL database. Once that is done, I need a function that, based on an input of mine, returns some of that data to excel.

My only problem is that I have no experience with SQL. Well, first things first. Getting the data into the database.

I have created a table in a SQL database. I contains of 651 columns. The first one is named 'stat' and is the primary key. The remaining columns are named 'T1', 'T2', 'T3' ... 'T650'. It holds about 240 rows.

I can upload data from excel with the following:

Sub SetLevel(stat As String, value1 As Double, value2 As Double, value3 As Double)

' Dim rst As ADODB.Recordset
Dim rst As Object
Set rst = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

Dim Cmd As New ADODB.Command
With Cmd
.ActiveConnection = oConn 'is set before sub is called
.CommandText = "dbo.SetLevels"
.CommandType = adCmdStoredProc
.Parameters.Refresh
.Parameters("@stat") = stat
.Parameters("@level1") = value1
.Parameters("@level2") = value2
.Parameters("@level3") = value3
Set rst = .Execute
End With

End Sub

----------

ALTER PROCEDURE [dbo].[SetLevels]
@stat varchar(64),
@Level1 float,
@level2 float,
@level3 float
AS
BEGIN

SET NOCOUNT ON;

UPDATE dbo.Levels
SET T1 = @level1,
T2 = @level2,
T3 = @level3
WHERE stat = @stat
;
END