Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Administration
 Using BCP to export

Author  Topic 

jpost
Starting Member

43 Posts

Posted - 2012-09-11 : 14:30:15
I am new to using bcp and am having a few issues. I want to export the results of a query that I wrote, so I can use task scheduler to ftp the results to an offsite provider. How would I do that? I know that you use command line, but everything I have found just exports tables and not results. The result I want to export is called Info and I would like to save it as tab delimited. Any suggestions would be great, I am very new to sql server administration.
Thanks

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

52326 Posts

Posted - 2012-09-11 : 14:36:04
you can use bcp with queryout option to export results of query using bcp

http://sqlfool.com/2008/12/bcp-basics/

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP
http://visakhm.blogspot.com/

Go to Top of Page

jpost
Starting Member

43 Posts

Posted - 2012-09-11 : 14:55:44
Can you provide an example of what the code would look like. Every time I use something I find and manipulate it to what I need it doesn't work. Is there also a way to save the command so I can automate it using task scheduler?
Go to Top of Page

visakh16

52326 Posts

Posted - 2012-09-11 : 15:26:25
the posted link has example of queryout. did you have a look at that?

for saving command you can save it as a batch file and call it from task scheduler

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP

Go to Top of Page

jpost
Starting Member

43 Posts

Posted - 2012-09-12 : 09:55:29