Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Question about stored procedure and Union All

Author  Topic 

The Fire Snake
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2012-10-04 : 13:04:33
Hi Everybody,
This is my first post on this forum and I am very new to TSQL. I do have some database experience, as I have created/modified SQL and PLSQL in Oracle. I am currently looking into debugging a SQL Server stored procedure that someone else wrote and I am confused. Here is the code paraphrased a bit:

CREATE PROCEDURE [dbo].[sp_MySP]
@p1 int OUTPUT,
@p2 int OUTPUT
AS
BEGIN

SELECT @p1 = count(*)
FROM <some table>
WHERE
(
<Some conditions>
)

UNION ALL

SELECT @p2 = count(*)
FROM <same table>
WHERE
(
<Different conditions>
)

END

GO

I think I understand what the above SP is doing for the most part. It has 2 output parameters and it assigns them the result of counts on the table. Then these 2 paraemters(with the count values) are returned back to the calling program. When I go to comple this code, I get an error saying something to the effect that you can't do an assignment before and after a UNION. So, I looked this up and was in the process of rewriting this with the UNION ALL, but in a different way to get over this error.

Then I started to looking into what is it actually doing and the UNION ALL being used here baffles me. I understand what a UNION ALL does, but how is it applicable here? It makes no sense why you would want to union 2 assignments together? Do you know what is going on with that? I was thinking I was just going to remove the UNION. Will I get the same results? Thanks.

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

52326 Posts

Posted - 2012-10-04 : 13:21:54