Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 How to reduce a table in size

Author  Topic 

johann77
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2012-11-21 : 16:13:36
I'm new to SQL Server. DB Admin quit. Boss is asking to reduce size of a table (don't know what table yet) kept for the last 7 years with over 2 million records. Our weekly task compares against the table and is taking more than 5 hours to do so, and by reducing the table we expect to reduce processing time, so he wants me:

1. Backup current table (just in case)
2. Then only keep the last 6 months of records and delete rest.

Using SQL Server 2008 Management Studio. I come from a Visual FoxPro background. Never have used SQL Server.

Sounds easy, but I have absolutely no idea on how to even start. Problem is, they want this done by the end of this month.

I started reading a bit and learned among other things that tables are kept in .mdf files. Did a search and found several .mdf files. Although filename.mdf does not match table name but does match Database name. I can tell Database holds a little over 90 tables. I only want to delete records from 1 table, leave the rest of the tables alone.

Once I find out exactly what table I need to reduce, I guess this is not just a matter of copy and paste the <File.mdf>? Can I achieve this through SQL syntax?

Thanks,

chadmat
The Chadinator

1974 Posts

Posted - 2012-11-21 : 16:46:15
If this is important data, you really shouldn't be messing around with this server until you get some training on SQL Server. 2M records is not that big, you could probably tune the process and keep the data, though an archival strategy is not a bad idea. You need to get some training though, or hire someone with SQL Experience.

-Chad
Go to Top of Page

srimami
Posting Yak Master

160 Posts