Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Administration
 Need Help With Dream job Interview

Author  Topic 

viperbyte
Posting Yak Master

132 Posts

Posted - 2012-11-28 : 07:59:21
Good morning everyone. I'm going to my first ever interview for a DBA position in a few hours. I'm lucky that the employer is considering me for this position since I don't have any official DBA experience, don't have a bachelor's degree at all and obviously not currently employed as a DBA. I'm not even employed. Although on my resume I mention my current computer programming freelancing(translates to starving) as my current occupation. I studied on a fast track school for the MSSQL DBA position in 2004 and was one of the best students. I'm sure that after a couple of weeks on the job that I will have had enough time to cram to be able to begin to feel a little comfortable and competent. I would like to minimize the unproductive time as I get up to speed and will cram like crazy. This is all if I should land the job of course. My biggest concern is how to handle the interview to convey that I will be able to do the job. Can you folks pleeeeaaassse suggest to me what I can say to come across as someone that will be able to address their current problem at least? Their current problem and the reason they are hiring a DBA is that their web app is really slow. They feel that their database needs proper indexing. One of my first thoughts is to somehow let them know that I can show them some kind of stats that shows how a particular query is performing. Then show them the results after work has been done. How do I express this? I will be showing them before and after "whats"? Besides that, what will I say will be my approach? Super please help me. This is the job that I have always wanted and I just about gave u