Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 COUNT Per Date and Insert Into Another Table

Author  Topic 

anthonywardle
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2012-12-14 : 11:10:31
Afternoon all

New to this forum so be gentle with me.
I am by no means an expert on SQL but know enough to get me by with the job I do.

I have 2 tables.

TableA has a list of dates in a column named date_field (currently just 01/01/2011 to 31/12/2011), and multiple columns that I want to insert data into, for this example using column named count_for_xyz

TableB has a list of calls that have taken place on that date, a row per call ranging from a single call to hundreds, all labelled per client (client_name) with a datetime stamp (Start_time)

What I am trying to do, is select from TableB, the number of calls by date for client XYZ (this bit is easy), but I want to insert these results in a the column count_for_xyz in TableA.

So far what i have written is (the DATEADD bit is to strip out the time from the datetime value)

set dateformat dmy
UPDATE TableA
SET count_for_XYZ =
(
SELECT COUNT(*) FROM TableB
WHERE ClientName = 'XYZ'
AND
DATEADD(day, DATEDIFF(day, 0, Start_time), 0) IN (SELECT date_field from TableA)
)
WHERE date_field = (SELECT DATEADD(day, DATEDIFF(day, 0, Start_time), 0) from TableB)

But this returns a message saying

Subquery returned more than 1 value. This is not permitted when the subquery follows =, !=, <, <= , >, >= or when the subquery is used as an expression.

Any help much appreciated

sunitabeck
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

5155 Posts

Posted - 2012-12-14 : 11:22:36
It is the subquery in the WHERE clause that is causing the problem.

First run this query to see if the results look like what you want them to be
SELECT
DATEADD(DAY,DATEDIFF(DAY,0,Start_time),0) AS Date,