Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SPROC help

Author  Topic 

Robowski
Posting Yak Master

101 Posts

Posted - 2013-01-13 : 14:04:34
Hi,

I'm studying for the 70-461 querying SQL 2012 cert and bit stuck with the below stored procedure; can someone advise where I am going wrong please?

Below is my proc - it works fine except it doesn't output the NEWID, I understand why it doesn't, I haven't set the NEWID to have a value anywhere, if I set it within the IF statement SQL doesn't like the syntax.

IF
@SalesID IS NULL
SET @SalesID = NEWID() ---SQL doesn't seem to like this line, removed it will compile and run but doesn't return the newid when one is created
INSERT INTO Sales
SELECT @SalesID, @ProductID, @EmployeeID, @Quantity, @SaleDate
ELSE
UPDATE
Sales
SET
ProductID = @ProductID, EmployeeID = @EmployeeID, Quantity = @Quantity, SaleDate = @SaleDate
WHERE
SalesID = @SalesID

Full code working SPROC code except for the @SalesID will not output

CREATE PROC UpsertSales
@ProductID int
,@EmployeeID int
,@Quantity int
,@SaleDate datetime
,@SalesID uniqueidentifier = NULL OUTPUT
AS
IF
@SalesID IS NULL

INSERT INTO Sales
SELECT NEWID(), @ProductID, @EmployeeID, @Quantity, @SaleDate
ELSE
UPDATE
Sales
SET
ProductID = @ProductID, EmployeeID = @EmployeeID, Quantity = @Quantity, SaleDate = @SaleDate
WHERE
SalesID = @SalesID
GO

DECLARE @SalesID uniqueidentifier

EXEC UpsertSales
1, 6, 5, '2006-05-05 00:00:00.000', @SalesID OUTPUT

PRINT 'NewID: ' + CAST(@SalesID AS nvarchar(50))
GO

James K
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3873 Posts

Posted - 2013-01-13 : 14:19:01
You need a begin and end block if there is more than one statement within the if block (or within the else block)
	IF
@SalesID IS NULL
BEGIN ------------ THIS