Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 how to get better at writing queries?

Author  Topic 

m1k3m41
Starting Member

9 Posts

Posted - 2013-02-21 : 14:47:11
I am new to SQL programming and just started my first class on databases in January. I find it hard to solve word problems even though I study the material extensively. Examples of questions are:

1) Find the SID of the student whose GPA is greater than that of student whose SID is 233.
2) Find the pharmacy that carries the drug that is most prescribed.

The problems that deal with more than 1 table gets me confused and I don't even know where to begin. I do perfectly fine when it is only involving 1 table. Do you guys have any tips on getting better at solving these problems and what steps I should take? Thank you very much.

jimf
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2875 Posts

Posted - 2013-02-21 : 18:41:04
Keep reading this forum and see what other people are asking, and try to answer it yourself, and then see what other people did to solve it and try to understand what they did to solve it. You can always ask questions about what somebody did and why. A good first start, at least for me anyway, was to realize what is actually happening in the
SELECT
FROM
WHERE
construct. Did you know that SQL looks at the FROM 1st, the WHERE 2nd and the SELECT last?
I know this isn't much, but I hope it gets you started.

Good luck!

Jim

Everyday I learn something that somebody else already knew
Go to Top of Page

m1k3m41
Starting Member

9 Posts

Posted - 2013-02-25 : 12:56:34
Thanks Jim. So I'm guessing the only way to get better is through practice? I will try to do more problems. I just hope to be able to grasp this concept.. I usually don't know where to begin but once I see the answer, it seems like it was so easy....