Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 pubs on 2012

Author  Topic 

bodling
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2013-03-20 : 09:39:25
I'm a novice C# programmer and the book I'm following uses the microsoft pubs database (which can be downloaded here: javascript:hyperlink(http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=23654);, since I'm using SQL Server 2012 I need help converting the SQL 2000 file to 2012. It is incompatible with 2012.

======================================================================
Here is what I've done:
Try to upgrade the .mdf: [instructions from here]javascript:hyperlink(http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh873188.aspx);
In Visual Studio 2012 I
1. added a connection
2. Data source: Microsoft SQL Server(Sql Client)
3. Server name: (LocalDB)\v11.0
4. Attach the database file
5. Give it a logical name
6. press the OK button.
Then it askes do you want to upgrade the database file now? Yes.
Output:
Database 'PUBS' cannot be upgraded because its non-release version(539) is not supported by this version of SQL-Server..... You must re-create the database.

Try to attach the file in Microsoft SQL Management Studio
Output:
Database 'pubs' cannot be upgraded because its non-release version(539) is not supported by this version of SQL-Server..... You must re-create the database.

Searched google for converting pubs to SQL Server 2012 compatability
======================================================================

Thanks in advance
bodling

robvolk
Most Valuable Yak

15732 Posts

Posted - 2013-03-20 : 14:58:56