Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Function / Stored Procedure to update field value

Author  Topic 

carstentao
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2013-05-12 : 16:12:00
Hi,

I'm already sorry ... I am quite new to this whole posting stuff, but I am trying my best ...

I got two tables ... 'Customer' and 'Rooms' ... a single Customer with a UNIQUE CU_ID is staying in a room (with a UNIQUE ROOM_ID, unfortunately for me, sometimes there are 2 or three CU_ID staying in the same Room ... they usually check in at the same day though, so the CheckInDate should be the same ...

When they check in and the RoomNo is entered on the 'Customer'-Table I would like the Bit-Field 'Occupied' in the 'Rooms'-Table to be set to "TRUE". That part I got done with a Trigger (see below) ...

The trick is when they are checking out ... If a User manually marks the "Occupied"-(Bit)Field for that Room-ID as "FALSE", then I would like to set the DepartDate on the Customer-Table for ANY Customer staying in that room at the MOMENT to Getdate().

Here's my tables, Trigger, and some test data:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Rooms](
[Room_ID] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
[Room_No] [nvarchar](50) NULL,
[Occupied] [bit] NULL,
[CheckInDate] [int] NULL,

CONSTRAINT [PK_Rooms] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(
[Room_ID] ASC
)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON) ON [PRIMARY]
) ON [PRIMARY]

GO

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Customer](
[CU_ID] [int] IDENTITY(5000,1) NOT NULL,
[CheckInDate] [datetime] NULL,
[RoomNo] [int] NOT NULL,
[Nights_Booked] [int] NULL,
[DepartDate] [datetime] NULL,
CONSTRAINT [PK_Customer] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED
(
[CU_ID] ASC