Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SSIS and Import/Export (2008)
 Need help as i am new to SSIS

Author  Topic 

karmeeabi
Starting Member

18 Posts

Posted - 2013-06-24 : 08:58:45
Hi All,

Very Good Morning, Afternoon & Evening,

i am very new to SSIS and currently getting opportunity using SSIS using 2008 R2 version.

HELP ITEM

1. currently i have Multiple XML file and i need to consolidate , Merge , Append the data - CLose to 100- xml File i have XML Schema for the same with me will share that at the end of the request.

2. here i having difficulty in getting the Unique ID properly "ID929572783" that is not coming properly is generating own id like random number where i cannot map it back to my data.

3. tried to change the data type for the Unique id from "DT_WSTR" to "DT_STR" no go so tried with other data type "DT_GUID" still no go it generating the own id.

Tried this possible solution to merge the data

a.File Name - String - folder path
b.File Extension - String - *.xml
c.Full Path Name - output data path
1. For Each Loop Container
2. double clicked on "FELC" properties
3. Under Collection For Each File Enumerator
4. Folder Name - provided the path where all the XML is stored
5. files - *.xml
6. Retrieve File Name - Fully Qualify
7. click on Variable Mapping
8. Variables = User :: Full Path - Index = 0
9. Click on ok
10. Dragged & Dropped Data Flow Task (DFT) double clicked
11. Dragged & Dropped the XML Source, provided the Source xml file
12. created the Schema and clicked ok
13. right click XML Source and click on ADvanced Editor
14. Input and Output Properties select the 11 tables / elements and changed the data type for all the Text files to "DT_NTEXT" as this was done by some other person where is he not available or not reachable
15. clicked on ok